Grassroots Awards 2022

Cornwall FA Grassroots Football Awards Ceremony 2022

An evening of recognition and celebration at the Penventon Hotel.

Cornwall FA were delighted to celebrate the fantastic work volunteers do to make grassroots football in Cornwall truly special.

On Friday 2nd September, Cornwall FA were delighted to welcome the 2020, 2021, 2022 Cornwall FA Grassroots Awards Winners to celebrate and recognise their contribution to Cornish football.

The Cornwall FA Grassroots Football Awards are to recognise and celebrate the people who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across the county, and to say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.

The winners are people who have really made a difference and have demonstrated the positive impact they have had in their local community. They behave with fairness and integrity, they create fun, safe and inclusive environments for everyone. They encourage the very best, both in themselves and in everybody around them. They have risen to overcome challenges and they make a truly positive impact in their community.

This year’s awards ceremony was particularly special as we were joined by the 2020 and 2021 winners as a result of the COVID-19 Pandemic postponing previous year’s award ceremonies.

The evening consisted of a 3-course meal followed by the awards ceremony and a special guest talk from Tim Foster (FA Head of Operations). During the presentation, each award winner was celebrated through with a round of applause, photo and a special video to recognise their achievements. 

Cornwall FA would like to congratulate all the award winners and thank them for all the work they do to make 1000's of people enjoy football across the County. 

The award winners will be listed below along with their video. All the videos can also be viewed here on the Cornwall FA YouTube channel.

Coach of the Year for Adults

2022 - Kevin McCann

2021 - Andy Jackson

Andy Jackson

2020 – Matt Cusack

Grounds Team of the Year

2022 - Ieuan Gregory

2021 - Tregorrick AFC

Tregorrick Youth Award

2020 – St Day AFC

Match Official of the Year

2022 - Dave Dodson

Dave Dodson

2020 - Luke Wilkes



Coach of the Year for Youth

2022 - Leanne Seals

2021 - Mark Richards

2020 - Jenna Borlase

Club or League Official of the Year

2022 - Erica Foskett

2021 - Penny Hodgson

2020 – Janine Kennedy

League of the Year

2021 - Cornwall Womens Football League

2020 - West Cornwall Flexi-League

Project of the Year

2022 - St Neot AFC

2021 - Alison Stedeford – Five Islands FC

2020 - St Agnes Dynamos

Rising Star of the Year

2022 - Katie Mayall

2021 - Tom Stephens

2020 - Joe Hocking

Volunteer of the Year

2022 - Ashley Blakely-May

2021 - Jonathan Grigg

2020 - Steve Kellow


We Only Do Positive Award

2020 - Torpoint Youth AFC U12s

Outstanding Services to Cornish Football Award

2022 - Peter Roe

2021 - Mike Newcombe

Mike Newcombe

2020 - Simon Gardiner

Club of the Year Award

2022 - Wendron United AFC

2021 - Saltash United

2020 - St Day AFC

Spirit of Grassroots Football Award

2022 - James Hutchings and Matthew Knowles

2021 - Hailey Collins


Cornwall FA Grassroots football awards 2022