Cornwall Mens Goals

Cornwall Mens victory still sees Devon winners of the Brunel Cup representative challenge

Cornwall Men won 2-1 against Devon on the 11th May 2022 in the final Brunel Cup Game.

A sunny evening at Blaise Park, St Blazey saw Cornwall Men win 2-1 against Devon, concluding the Brunel Cup Representative Challenge.

Despite Cornwall’s best efforts, Devon were crowned champions of the Brunel Cup competition after the series saw an overall tie of 3 games a piece for Devon and Cornwall, with Devon edging the victory on goal difference.

A competitive game saw Cornwall take the lead through Falmouth Town’s Jack Bray-Evans early strike with the score remaining 1-0 until five minutes into the second half. Devon found their way back into a game with a low driven freekick by Steve Colwell who plays for Helston Athletic. Later in the game, Camelford, Tavistock and previous Cornwall U18 representative Ed Harrison scored from the penalty spot,  after Wendron’s Cameron Wheat was taken down inside the box. This strike proved to be the winning goal, with Cornwall winning the game 2-1.

Cornwall FA Football Services Manager Richard Pallot said, “it has been great to see over 100 players represent Cornwall in the Brunel Cup Representative Challenge. The opportunity for boys, girls, men and women to have representative teams in one unified event has seen great engagement from the Cornish Football Family and we hope those that have attended the fixtures have enjoyed support Cornwall over the last few months”.

Cornwall’s starting line-up: Ryan Barnes (Falmouth), Dave Barker (Saltash), Callum Martindale (Saltash), Callum O’Brien (Torpoint), James Ward (Falmouth), Josh Storey (Helston), Sam Farrant (Saltash), Ed Harrison (Camelford/Tavistock), Jack Bray-Evans (Falmouth), Reece Thomson (Saltash), Rikki Shepherd (Millbrook).

Cornwall Substitutes: C Wearing (Millbrook), Jarred Woods (Liskeard), Dave Broglino (Falmouth), Tom Payne (Millbrook), Cameron Wheat (Wendron).

Devon’s starting line-up: Aaron Dearing (Okehampton), Harry Walford (Wellington), Alfie Tucker (Newton Abbot), Dan Preece (Alphington), James Skinner (Exwick Villa), Steve Colwell (Helston), Jake Miller (Tavistock), Jesse Howe (Elmore), Stuart Bowker (Helston), Levi  Landricombe (Exmouth), Luke Mortimore (Okehampton).

Devon substitutes: George Jones (Barnstaple), Jake Ramday (Teignmouth), Luke Barner (Falmouth), Harvey Dennis (Barnstaple), Charlie Wright (Barnstaple), Dominic Larter (Barnstaple).

Match Officals: Rowan Clarke (Referee), Adrian Clements (Assistant Referee), John Green (Assistant Referee) and Mike Glanville (4th Official).

Cornwall FA would like to congratulate Devon FA on winning the Brunel Cup! 

Brunel Cup - Match Results

Devon Women v Cornwall Women

 (Full Time Result: Cornwall Won 5-2)

Devon Boys U16 v Cornwall Boys U16

(Full Time Result: 2-2 and Cornwall won 5-4 on penalties)

Devon Boys U18 v Cornwall Boys U18

(Full Time Result: 1-1 and Devon won 3-0 on penalties)

Cornwall Girls U16 v Devon Girls U16

 (Full Time Result: Devon won 9-0)

Cornwall Girls U18 v Devon Girls U18

(Full Time Result: Devon won 2-1)

Cornwall Men v Devon Men

(Full Time Result: Cornwall Won 2-1)