Grassroots Awards 2019

Grassroots Football Awards- Shortlisted Nominees Announced

 Last month we launched the 2019 FA and McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards, with new categories added there were 11 awards up for grabs and we asked the football community in Cornwall to nominate their local heroes.  A big thank you to everyone who took the time to go online and nominate, we had a record 95 nominations … the largest number of nominations we have ever had in Cornwall!


On Tuesday 14th May a panel consisting of county FA staff, board members, FA staff and a member of the local media all who have experience from many areas of the game met at the County FA Office in Bodmin to go through the nominations and select the worthy winners. The panel were delighted to choose nominees from each category who will be invited to our annual Awards Evening taking place on Friday 28th June in Lanivet in which the overall winner will be announced on the night!


The nominees for each category are;

Grassroots Club of the Year

Falmouth Community FC

St Agnes AFC

Cornwall Powerchair FC


Grassroots Coach of the Year

Kate Todd (Torpoint Athletic Juniors)

Paul Knight (St Day AFC)

Drew Symons (Falmouth United)


Grounds Team of the Year

Helston AFC

Wendron FC


Volunteer of the Year

Dave Hitchens (Charlestown)

Zach Maunder (Falmouth Athletic/ Sunday League)

Dave Bartlam (Trelawny League)

Nikki Ellacott (Launceston AFC)


Rising Star of the Year

Sam Brown (Camelford FC)

Mollie Dring (St Agnes AFC)

Piran Simmons (Troon AFC)


We Only Do Positive Respect

Josh Galvin (Bodmin Youth)

St Agnes AFC

Colin Phillips (Saltash United)


Grassroots Project of the Year

Cornwall Girls League

Newquay AFC Youth

Looe Town FC


Grassroots Match Official of the Year

Darren Winkworth

Paul Minns


Grassroots League of the Year

Cornwall dis-Ability League

 East Cornwall Youth League

Trelawny League


Administrator of the Year

Hayley Champion (Dobwalls AFC)

Sue Rowe (Ludgvan FC)

Denzil Lobb (Cornwall Womens League/St Agnes)


Outstanding Services to Cornish Football

Colin Phillips (Saltash United)

Kevin Williamson (Posthumous, Wendron United)

Richard Pinkus (Bude Town)



A big congratulations to all of this year’s nominees, details of the awards evening will be sent out to all nominees via email.


Also a huge thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate their grassroots hero and well done to all of those who received nominations!