CCFA Awards Header

Volunteers celebrated at Grassroots Football Awards Evening

On Friday 28th June Cornwall FA welcomed almost 100 volunteers and County FA members to The Waterside Resort in Lanivet, Bodmin for our annual FA Grassroots Football Awards Evening. This year we had a record number of nominations across all categories and in order to recognise as many volunteers as possible, each award had a number of nominees shortlisted and invited along to the ceremony.  

Attendees enjoyed a two course meal followed by tea and coffee as they were treated to a live question and answer session with Chris Morris, former professional footballer and County Coach Developer. Chris was asked a number of questions about his playing career with Middlesbrough, Sheffield United, Celtic and Republic of Ireland by CCFA Board Member, Nick Oswald. Chris gave a real insight into the lifestyle of a professional footballer at that time, what it was like playing in major competitions and some of the more amusing sides of the job- including an unfortunate incident with the post-game shirt swapping.

It was a real pleasure to invite so many of our grassroots volunteers and celebrate another fantastic season of football in Cornwall.

Congratulations to this year’s winners and runners up, all of who do a wonderful job within their teams, clubs and league;

Grassroots Club of the Year


Falmouth Community FC (RUNNERS UP) and Cornwall Powerchair FC (RUNNERS UP)

Grassroots Coach of the Year
Drew Symons-Falmouth United (WINNER)

Kate Todd-Torpoint Athletic Juniors (RUNNER UP) and Paul Knight-St Day AFC (RUNNER UP)

Grounds Team of the Year

Wendron United FC (RUNNERS UP)

Volunteer of the Year

Dave Bartlam-Trelawny League (WINNER)

Zach Maunder-Falmouth Athletic/ Sunday League (RUNNER UP), Nikki Ellacott-Launceston AFC (RUNNER UP) and Dave Hitchens-Charlestown (RUNNER UP)

Rising Star of the Year
Mollie Dring-St Agnes AFC (WINNER)

Sam Brown-Camelford FC (RUNNER UP) and Piran Simmons-Troon AFC (RUNNER UP)

We Only Do Positive Respect Award

Josh Galvin-Bodmin Youth (RUNNER UP) and Colin Phillips-Saltash United (RUNNER UP)

Grassroots Project of the Year
Cornwall Girls League (WINNER)

Newquay AFC Youth (RUNNERS UP) and Looe Town FC (RUNNERS UP)

Grassroots Match Official of the Year
Darren Winkworth (WINNER)

Paul Minns (RUNNER UP)

Grassroots League of the Year

East Cornwall Youth League (WINNERS)

Cornwall dis-Ability League (RUNNERS UP) and Trelawny League (RUNNERS UP)

Administrator of the Year
Denzil Lobb- Cornwall Womens League (WINNER)

Hayley Champion-Dobwalls AFC (RUNNER UP) and Sue Rowe-Ludgvan FC (RUNNER UP)

Outstanding Services to Cornish Football
Kevin Williamson- Wendron United (Presented Posthumously as the winner to his wife and Peter Thorne from Wendron United)

Colin Phillips-Saltash United (RUNNER UP) and Richard Pinkus-Bude Town (RUNNER UP)

The evening would not have been as successful without the support of a number of people, therefore a big thank you goes out to; Steve Lawrence, CCFA Board Member for once again being our compare on the evening, to Emma Andrews and The Waterside Resort for the wonderful venue and delicious food and finally to Joe Corton and Benjamin Eyriey from Falmouth University who helped with the collection and creation of the nominee videos presented on the evening.  

We sincerely hope all of our volunteers who attended enjoyed the evening, the 2020 Grassroots Football Awards will launch again early in 2020, if you know someone who deserves to be recognised for all their hard work make sure you nominate and they could potentially be a winner. 

If you have any questions about the awards please contact us on Grace Dent, 01208 269010 or

To see the full album of pictures from the Awards Evening click HERE