The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

Here to support you every step of the way.

This programme represents a major investment in the grassroots game and offers on-the-ground support to FA Charter Standard Clubs, leagues and target groups.

The FA sees the development of coaches as central to the development of the game, and working collaboratively accelerates learning and supports coaches’ development.

Mentoring support at a club could include:

  • Developing a whole club philosophy
  • Group coaching demonstrations
  • 1:1 coaching, match-day observation and support
  • Signposting to relevant courses and events
  • Needs analysis for individual coaches
  • Modelling of coaching sessions for individual coaches
  • Individual feedback
  • An individual learning programme

In 2015/16 the FA Coach Mentor Programme supported 9,383 coaches and 615 clubs.

cornwall fA Mentors

Here are some key facts about the FA Mentor Programme in Cornwall;

  • Cornwall FA have a total of 595 hours representing an investment of £14,875 across the 17/18 season.
  • 5 Mentors in Cornwall working with over 95 coaches so far (1 new Mentor recently appointed)
  • 2 of our Mentors are Regional Mentors helping to support other Mentors in Devon and Cornwall
  • Support visit to the Isles of Scilly to deliver sessions to coaches and players on the island
  • Mentor's still have almost 50% of their allocated time left to deliver this season

cornwall FA COACH MENTORS 2017-18

 

Natasha Mills
Female and Disability

07464027812
Natasha.Mills@thefa.com         
           


Martin Burnell
East Cornwall/ Marketing

07944809980
Martin.Burnell@thefa.com               

 

Vicky Fisher
Female and Disability 

07593990642
Vicky.Fisher@thefa.com            


FA Coach Mentor Tash Mills

FA Mentor Martin Burnell Profile

Vicky Fisher Coach Mentor

 

        Dave Lea
West Cornwall/ Coach Education Lead      

07760601544

David.Lea@thefa.com
 

         Glynn Hooper
         Mid-Cornwall/ Legacy Mentor

         01872246055
         Glyn.Hooper@thefa.com

 

FA Coach Mentor Dave Lea

 Glynn Hooper Coach Mentor

FAQs

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

West Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com

Get In Touch

Tor receive support from The FA Coach Mentor programme, please contact

Ciara Allen

Tele: 07812670154                                    Email: ciara.allan@thefa.com

When making initial contact please include your name, club name, number of teams and County FA affiliated to.

The FA Coaching Bursary

An inclusive initiative designed to support more coaches from under-represented communities with a financial contribution to progress on their coaching pathways

CLICK HERE
The FA Coaching Bursary

Related Articles

View All