Saltash Juniors Proud Winners

Saltash United Juniors crowned winners of the A.H. Luke Trophy.

A.H. Luke Trophy Final

Falmouth started the stronger of the two teams and put early pressure on the Saltash defence, but it was from one of the first attacks by Saltash that they took the lead. 14 minutes into the game, good work by Luke Trevaskus saw him open the Saltash account from 15 yards with a low drive. Saltash gained confidence from this goal and began to dictate more of the play, restricting  the Falmouth attack, but in the 35th minute Falmouth drew level with a header by William Harding following a right-wing cross. Just before the break, Saltash went close with a dive bouncing off the crossbar.

The second half saw a more even contest with both teams threatening, but it was Saltash who came the closest when Luke Trevaskus hit the crossbar with a fierce drive. Falmouth created a couple of chances but was lacking that final finishing touch and then in the 70th minute fell behind for the second time when Salthas’s Lewis Smith scored from close range when a shot came back to him following a save by the Falmouth goalkeeper (a photograph of this moment has been captured).

Falmouth tried their best to get back into the game, but Saltash held onto their one goal lead to life the A/H Luke Trophy as under 16 champions on Cornwall.

The trophy was presented to the winning Saltash team by Mr Roger Luke, the grandson of MR A.H Luke, former president of the Cornwall FA 1938-1952. Medal presentations were carried out to a very appreciative crowd in front of Bodmin grandstand.


Congratulations to Saltash United Juniors FC

A massive congratulations to Saltash Juniors on becoming winners of the Luke Cup but also well done to Falmouth United Youth for reaching the final and playing their best. We would also like to thank Bodmin Town  FC for the use of their facilities and really hope everyone had an enjoyable and celebratory evening.

What do you think?

  • Find A Club
Advanced Search Loading...
Watch The FA's new Respect video
Nominate now for Respect Awards 13/14
Link to complete history of Fair Play in football