Dobwalls Ladies into the Final

Bude Town Ladies v Dobwalls Ladies FC played in the Womens Cup Semi-Final on Wednesday 26th March 2014 at Bodieve Park, home of Wadebridge Town FC.

Dobwalls Ladies Hold on to 1:0 Lead to Win Semi-Final

Just three days after a 2-2 draw in the South West Women’s Football League, the sides of managers Ian Marks and Paul Borlase were set to meet again in the Semi-Final of the Cornwall Women’s Cup.

Under floodlights at Bodieve Park, Wadebridge, spectators experienced a midfield battle between the two teams in the first half, in which chances were sparse. But it was Jade Hankinson of Dobwalls Ladies FC who turned a goal mouth scramble into a vital 1:0 lead for her side by finishing from close range in the 40th minute.

With the pressure on Bude Town to even the score, the game became more open with end-to-end action and opportunities on both sides. 15 minutes to go on the clock and Bude Town Ladies were camped inside the Dobwalls Ladies penalty box pushing for the equalizer, but the Dobwalls defence held strong and the aluminium saved them on more than one occasion.

As referee Paul Cackett blew for the final whistle in this sporting game, it was met with great joy and sense of relief by the supporters and players of Dobwalls Ladies, who will now be competing against Callington Town Ladies FC in the Cornwall Women’s Cup Final on Sunday 13th April 2014 at Launceston, with a 2pm kick off.

Bude Town Ladies FC

In this year’s competition Bude Town Ladies FC won against Penzance Ladies FC 10-0 in Round 1. They then proceeded to the Quarter Final, in which they also won 10-0 against St Breward Womens FC to reach the Semi-Final.

Lisa Cornish, Mandy Bickle, Reanne Westlake, Gina Westlake, Lavinia Shadrick James, Corrine Anderson, Stephanie Haydon, Katherine Bryant, Assumpta Gifford, Courtney Ward, Annmarie Latham, Yvette Parfett, Lily Godwood, Leanne Stanbury, Lizzy Jenkins.

Team Manager: Ian MARKS


Dobwalls Ladies FC

In this year’s competition Dobwalls Ladies FC were awarded an away walkover against Liskeard Ladies FC in Round 1. They then won against Illogan RBL Ladies 2-0 in the Quarter Final to reach the Semi-Final.

Fay Hankinson, Lindsey Woodman, Lucy Rigby, Suzanne Porter, Siobhan Howe, Jenna Borlase, Martine Hill, Jade Hankinson, Amy Rigby, Coral Smith, Michelle Rysdale, Coran Giddy, Melita Beman, Zara Lavers, Vanessa Scott.

Team Manager: Paul BORLASE
Coach: Tom BEMAN


Match Officials

Referee: Paul CACKETT      

Assistant Referees: Graham STROUT and Tony FORD                            

4th Official: Ray BROWN

We would like to extend our thanks to Wadebridge Town FC for hosting last nights Women's Cup Semi-Final.


The Final

Dobwalls Ladies FC will join Callington Town Ladies FC in the Final on Sunday 13th April 2014 at Launceston FC with a 2pm kick off.

What do you think?

  • Find A Club
Advanced Search Loading...

What's On

Watch The FA's new Respect video
Nominate now for Respect Awards 13/14
Fing us on Facebook image
Follow us on Twitter Image