Cornwall U18 Winners of Mick Parry Trophy

Cornwall U18 Youth travelled to Oxfordshire FA with a confident attitude and proved themselves worthy winners of the Mick Parry Trophy.

South West Counties Knockout Cup Final

'Mick Parry Trophy'

Saturday 5th April 2014, at Carterton FC. Oxfordshire.

Result: Oxfordshire 0 - Cornwall  2

Cornwall pressured their opponents right from the kick off  forcing them to defend as they switched their attacks from left to right. Oxfordshire survived when successive claims for handling offences inside the penalty area went unpunished.  

Cornwall achieved the breakthrough after 25 minutes when the ball fell to Alex Coles (Newquay) just inside the penalty area and his volley gave Alex Granthem (Abingdon United) no chance of saving. Cornwall continued to dominate and was only prevented from increasing their lead by Granthem's agility in goal and attempts going inches past the uprights.

In the second half Cornwall took up where they left off in giving their opponents little opportunity to settle. However it took until the 70th minute to increase their lead when Jordan Annnear (Porthleven) brushed off his opponent and scored decisively from close range. With the two goal advantage Cornwall were content to see the game out without any undue alarms.


In fact Cornwall 'keeper James Wignell (Helston Athletic) had a quiet afternoon. At the final whistle Cornwall skipper Ryan Chinn (Penryn Athletic) collected the 'Mick Parry Trophy' from the Competition President Mr.John Benfield.

Cornwall had won the trophy without conceding a single goal in reaching and winning the final.

A fitting conclusion to a season which started slowly but gathered momentum resulting in a fitting conclusion whereby the players had something to show for their recent excellent form plus bringing the trophy last won in 1999/2000  back to Cornwall.

Match Report from Cornwall FA Vice Chairman, David Bray who travelled with the team through-out the season.


The Cornwall Squad

James Wignell (Helston Athletic), Nick Hurst (Wadebridge Town), Scott Kellow (Falmouth Town) George Lumley (Kilkhampton), Danny Frolick (Camelford) , Alex Coles (Newquay),Aiden Killen (Truro City) , Ryan Chinn (Penryn Athletic), Callam Mconie (Newquay FC), Kyle Flew (Camelford), Jamie Payne (Penzance), Martyn Duff (Foxhole Stars) , Dan Marks (Sticker), Jordan Annear (Porthleven), Ryan Trathen (Penzance) , Harry Ahearn (Truro City)


Congratulations Cornwall FA U18 Youth

What do you think?