Easter Monday Finals

On 21st April 2014, Cornwall’s most prestigious football event will take place at Bodieve Park, home of Wadebridge Town FC.

Teams set to write history in

Cornwall FA Easter Monday Finals


One thing is certain, on Easter Monday a new club will be honoured with the Cornwall Junior Cup title. Surprise team and first time finalists Veryan FC, currently topping the Duchy League Division Four, will take on Trelawny League Premier Division side Helston Athletic Reserves in this year’s edition of the Cornwall Junior Cup Final. But their opponents Helston Athletic will also be going all out to in an attempt to have their name engraved on the silverware for the first time. The Junior Cup Final kicks off at 1.30pm and if the scores are even after 90 minutes the game will go straight to penalties without extra time.

The Senior Cup has been in the hands of Bodmin Town FC for the last four consecutive years, albeit Helston Athletic coming very close in last year’s replay to taking the trophy down West. Challenged by 2008/2009 Senior cup winners AFC St. Austell in this season’s competition, Bodmin Town FC could be the first team in the 121-year history of the Cornwall Senior Cup to have won it five seasons in a row, beating their own and Falmouth Town AFC’s record. The Senior Cup Final kicks off at 4.30pm and if the scores are even after 90 minutes the game will go straight to penalties without extra time.

Gates open at 12.30 and amble parking will be available on the grounds of Wadebridge Town FC, as well as in adjacent Wadebridge School and Cornwall Council office car parks. Admissions are £6 for adults and £4 for concessions (Senior Citizens and U16s), which covers entry fees for both finals. A range of refreshments will be available for purchase on the premises and all guests are reminded that no alcohol is to be taken into the grounds.



Match Officials:

Andrew McKnight           MATCH OFFICAL
Ryan Cornelius                 ASSISTANT REFEREE
Alan Howells                    ASSISTANT REFEREE
Ciaran Barlow                  4th OFFICIAL


Veryan FC

Veryan's first ever appearance in the Cornwall Junior Cup has captured the imagination of the small community on the Roseland peninsula. The squad has continued to strengthen and grow on the back of last year's successful Division 5 title and since the club has reformed, they have won 36 of their 38 league games played at the time of writing.

Manager Gary Wheildon said: "We are obviously very excited to have reached the Junior Cup Final so soon in the club’s development and we understand that we will be massive underdogs on the day, currently plying our trade some five divisions below our well established opponents. That said, we will give Helston the respect they deserve, but we won’t fear them. Nor will we settle for being happy that we have made it this far. We are going to Wadebridge to do our best to win the game. If that’s not enough, then so be it and all credit to Helston, but until the final whistle goes we will be doing everything within our power to win. Veryan is only a very small village but I am confident that we will be well supported, as we were for the area final. We are extremely grateful for this support and hope that we can put on a performance to make our supporters proud”.

SQUAD: Eliot Turner, Andy Wheildon, Steve Harris, Wayne Balsdon, Simon Matthews, Martin Bishop (Captain), Bobbylee Johns, Martyn O’Callaghan, Andrew Pearce, Liam Cope, Justin Trebilcock, Craig Phillips, Ollie Young, Kai Pearce, John Chaffin.

SUPPORT STAFF:  Gary Wheildon, Matt Dixon, Pete Webster


Helston Athletic FC

For the second consecutive year, members of Helston Athletic FC are delighted for the club to be appearing in Cornwall’s Easter Monday’s annual showcase of local football. After the Senior team came so close to pulling off the shock of the season in 2013, Paul Hendy the Club Chairman feels that this year it is the turn of the Reserves to represent both the Club and West Cornwall in the Junior Cup Final:

“With many of today’s players having come through the Club’s excellent Youth team program, there is no doubt they will be going all out to take the silverware back to Kellaway Park. With a large number of travelling supporters expected, one thing is for certain, the shouts of “Come On You Blues” will be heard loud and clear across Wadebridge this afternoon.”

SQUAD: Barry Hennesy, Eddie Dunn, Jevon Nolan, Michael Hallibone, Fred Conway, Phil Black, Chris Matthews, Scott Eastwood, Paul Reynolds, Keith Jacka, Will Paul, Shaun Parker, Alex Zamaneagram, Tom Lake, Joe Bray, Chris Reed

SUPPORT STAFF:  Graham Blake, Jerry Ede, Chris Breasley  



Match Officials:

Lee Mitchell                      MATCH OFFICAL
Paul Murphy                     ASSISTANT REFEREE
James Gallagher                ASSISTANT REFEREE
Luke Wilkes                      4th OFFICIAL


AFC St. Austell

Club Secretary Peter Beard explains that “the Cornwall Senior Cup is, in the eyes of all Cornish football supporters THE Cup to play for.  As for the players, it could be seen as the pinnacle of their footballing career, to hold that trophy at 6.15 pm on Easter Monday.”

“For many, it is a once in a lifetime achievement.  Recently, AFC St Austell has experienced both highs and lows in this competition.  Overcoming Saltash United at St Blazey, then losing to Bodmin Town at Hayle.  But on each occasion, players and supporters relished being part of a great day out.  We all look forward to another sporting encounter with local rivals Bodmin Town on this afternoon.”

AFC St. Austell would also like to thank all of their sponsors: Iconic, The Nare Hotel, Veryan Stores, Pat Cope Builders and Macron Store Cornwall.

SQUAD: Jason Chapman, Dan Lean, Lee Whetter, Ben Douglas, Martin Watts, Ben Williams, Jordan Dingle, Martin Giles, Chris Reski, Dan Nancarrow, Will Tinsley, Carl Rickard, Mike Body, Theo Stubbs
Christian Pople, Ollie Deadman

SUPPORT STAFF:  Phil Lafferty, Garry Penhaligon, Andy Parr, Craig Holman


Bodmin Town FC

Bodmin Town are very proud to have reached this year’s Cornwall Senior Cup final: “This is the fifth successive Senior Cup final the Club has reached, having won the trophy for the past four seasons. If we are successful again this year, we will claim the record for the most consecutive Senior Cup wins, having equalled the record last year held by Falmouth Town with four successive wins in the 1970’s. As this year is Bodmin Town’s 125th anniversary, if we are fortunate enough to win the trophy again this season, it would be an appropriate year to achieve a new record.”

SQUAD: Kevin Miller, Huw Morgan, Tom Chambers, Steve Simmonds, Sam Matthews, Danny O’Hagan, Lee Doel, Shane Jewell, Nick Doel, Jonny Ludlam, Jimmy Alexander, Chris Wright
Jack Podmore, Seb Broomfield

SUPPORT STAFF:  Darren Gilbert, Ronnie Swiggs, Terry Huddy, Nyree Weller


Good Luck

Cornwall FA wishes all the teams good luck and we extend our grateful thanks to Wadebridge Town FC for allowing us to host the Easter Monday Finals. We hope everyone has a great and enjoyable day.

What do you think?

  • Find A Club
Advanced Search Loading...

What's On

Watch The FA's new Respect video
Fing us on Facebook image
Nominate now for Respect Awards 13/14
Follow us on Twitter Image
Link to complete history of Fair Play in football